How to use Facetime Live Photos




Every iPhone user must be knowing and must already have used FaceTime. FaceTime is a built-in app that is exclusive to iOS devices. With this app you can do audio and video using your Wi-Fi or data connection to make a call instead of the cellular network, just like WhatsApp audio and video calling. 

However you can use FaceTime on iPhones, iPads, iPad Touch or Mac and make a call to anyone who has any of these devices. Using FaceTime you cannot make calls to non iOS devices. 

What is FaceTime Live Photos

iOS users don’t need introduction to Live Photos. With iPhone 6S Apple has introduced Live Photos feature in Camera App. With Live Photos enabled you can take a few seconds motion clip before and after you press the shutter button. 

With iOS 11, Apple has introduced a Live Photos feature into the FaceTime app as well, like the camera app. 

Requirements for taking Live Photos in FaceTime

Now, you might be wondering on how do I take Live Photos and How do I know when somebody is taking a Live Photo of me on Facetime. 

Taking FaceTime Live Photos requires both you and the person on the other side of the call to be running iOS 11 or, if you're on your laptop, MacOS High Sierra v10.13 or higher.

The Live Photos feature on FaceTime only works for iPhones that already have it as a general feature, which means Live photos feature in Camera app. Simply saying that you both need to use iPhone 6s or higher.

How it works

When you're on a FaceTime call, you'll notice a shutter button at the bottom-left corner of the screen. Tap on it to capture anything captivating and a Live Photo will be saved to Photos. 



Whenever you take Live Photo in FaceTime iPhone will also prompt saying, "You took a FaceTime Live Photo".  The other user will get a notification saying, "A FaceTime Live Photo of you was taken".

The best thing about this cool new feature is that the quality of the photos is same as it was taken from selfie camera. Since its not a screenshot, call or mute button or even the little window at the top-right corner showing your face will also not appear in the Live Photo. 

How to Disable It

Many of the times you might not want the other person to take the Live Photo of yours. Here's how you disable it.

Go to Setting on your iPhone, Scroll down to FaceTime and Tap on it.



In the next page, there is a FaceTime Live Photos with a toggle option under your Apple ID. Switch if off.



It will prevent any caller from taking a Live Photo of you during a FaceTime call while allowing you to do the same (if the other person has not disabled it in their settings).

Note:- 
This only prevents people from taking Live Photos however they can always take screenshots or use third-party screen recording apps.

Let us know what you think about this new feature. We'd love to hear from you!

Comments