What Happens When? - You Block Someone on Whatsapp




WhatsApp is a popular messaging app and almost everyone uses this platform to stay in touch with their family and friends. Its quite convenient to use WhatsApp to share the media files, documents, contacts, and location too.

In the meantime, there might be a necessity for some users to block a few others on WhatsApp. If you are feeling the need to block someone on WhatsApp, you might be having a lot of queries related to the same.

Take a look below to know what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp.

1. What Happens to Other Person

You will not know you are blocked by other person. 

Messages won’t be delivered
You can send messages but those messages will only go as far as WhatsApp’s servers, before being rejected. The message will be displayed as ‘sent’ (a single grey tick) and will never be delivered or seen.

Read receipts will not appear
As confirmed above since your messages will not be delivered, you will not get blue ticks or read receipts.

You will not be able to see last seen
You will not be able to see the online information such as last seen on WhatsApp. 

You will not be able to see the Status message
Just like the last seen information, you will not be able to see the status message on WhatsApp.

Profile picture won’t be visible
You will not be able to see the profile picture until you are unblocked.

You can’t make WhatsApp Call
It is known that a blocked contact on WhatsApp cannot send you any messages on the platform. In addition to messages, the blocked contact cannot make even calls to you using WhatsApp until you are unblock ed. 

2. What Happens To You

Keep in mind that blocking and unblocking a contact on WhatsApp is all in your hands. You can do it easily as you wish. With just a few taps on your phone, you can unblock the person and start enjoying conversations with the person.

You can’t send messages or calls before unblocking
If you have blocked a contact on WhatsApp, not only the person, but also you cannot make any calls or send messages to the person using the platform until you have unblocked the contact.

Group chats will remain unaffected
The blocked contact cannot send you any messages personally, but the group chats will remain unaffected. The blocked contact can still send you messages in groups that have you and the specific contact are part of. 

The contact won’t be removed from WhatsApp
You need to know that the contact you have blocked will not be removed from the list of contacts on WhatsApp. A contact will not appear on WhatsApp only when you remove the contact from your phonebook or address book.

Blocked messages will never deliver
In case you have blocked someone on WhatsApp, you will not get the messages that the person sends you as long as the contact is blocked. Even after unblocking the contact, the messages that were sent to you while you had blocked the contact won't be delivered to you at all.




3. How to Find out if Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp

Have a look on the following ways and check out if you’re blocked.


Last Seen Status

If the Last Seen feature of WhatsApp is activated in your profile, it means you will also be able to see other people’s Last Seen status. But if someone blocked you on WhatsApp, the last seen status won’t be visible.
So, if you were previously able to see someone’s last seen status but now only blank space is showing, it means the person blocked you.
However if the other person has stopped sharing his/her last seen to everyone or removed you from his/her contacts, in that case also you will see blank space. 

WhatsApp Profile Photo
If someone blocked you on WhatsApp, it can also be detected by having a look on person’s profile picture. I mean if you’re blocked by someone, you won’t be able to see his/her profile picture.
May be the contact picture of that person saved in your phone will be visible at the place of WhatsApp profile picture Or it will be like the person doesn’t set profile picture.

Check if Message Delivered or Not
If someone blocked you, your messages won’t be delivered to that person. It means you will never see the double tick sign on sent messages.
The read receipt (double tick sign) only displays when receiver receives the message. If it doesn’t display, it simply means either the user is not using WhatsApp at that time or you’re blocked.

Try to Make WhatsApp Call
If someone blocked you, you won’t be able to connect a WhatsApp call with that person. If you try calling that person on WhatsApp, call will automatically end without connecting and you’ll always see the Call End message.

Try sending messages from Other WhatsApp Number
To be able to 100% sure alternatively, you can send messages from any other WhatsApp number (which the other person don’t have). If your messages gets delivered/read (double tick or blue tick) that means the person has blocked your primary number on WhatsApp. 

Hope you liked the article. Please do comment, like and share with your friends. 

Comments